Postdoctoral Fellows

The National Socio-Environmental Synthesis Center (SESYNC)’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program helps build the capacity of outstanding early career researchers to conduct socio-environmental (S-E) synthesis research. The Fellowship provides opportunities for Fellows to engage in independent synthesis projects and with a vibrant community of postdoctoral researchers, visiting scholars, and staff scientists. SESYNC also supports its Postdoctoral Fellows through a professional development program to polish academic, communication, and teaching skills.

Beginning in fall of 2015, a new learning component of the Postdoctoral Fellowship Program will offer Fellows an opportunity to learn about the theoretical foundations for studying S-E systems. This Immersion Program consists of a series of collaborative workshops led by visiting scholars.

Most SESYNC Postdoctoral Fellows are selected through an annual competition in the spring. Additionally, SESYNC accepts applications for Postdoctoral Fellowships from applicants researching S-E systems with theoretical and/or computational approaches. These applications are accepted on a rolling basis and evaluated twice per year. In 2015, the SESYNC–LTER Postdoctoral Synthesis Fellowship Program will offer additional Fellowships to conduct research involving long-term datasets from the Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) network.

Current Fellowship Program opportunities can be found here.

Profile picture User Information Areas of Interest
Artois, Jean
Postdoctoral Fellow
jartois@sesync.org
species distribution modelling; spatial epidemiology; avian ecology; geographic information system
Benito, Xavier
Postdoctoral Fellow
xbenitogranell@sesync.org
Limnology, biogeography, archaeology, freshwater biodiversity, global change, resilience, paleoecological time-series
Cho, Se Jong
Postdoctoral Fellow
scho@sesync.org
Couriot, Ophélie
Postdoctoral Fellow
ocouriot@sesync.org
Eisenberg, Merle
Postdoctoral Fellow
meisenberg@sesync.org
Fricke, Evan
Postdoctoral Fellow
efricke@sesync.org
community ecology, biodiversity conservation, macroecology, ecological networks
Gollnow, Florian
Postdoctoral Fellow
fgollnow@sesync.org
Human-environmental interaction; Land System Science; Environmental conservation; Policy evaluation; Food security
Hoover, Fushcia-Ann
Postdoctoral Fellow
fhoover@sesync.org
green infrastructure, stormwater management, environmental justice, black geography, ecosystem services
Jones, Kelly
Postdoctoral Fellow
kjones1@sesync.org
Climate and Health: What is the role of the neighborhood environment in children’s respiratory health outcomes?
Knighton, James
Postdoctoral Fellow
jknighton@sesync.org
Read, Quentin
Postdoctoral Fellow/Data Scientist
qread@sesync.org
community ecology, spatial ecology, global change, economic-ecological systems, biodiversity, ecosystem functions and services
Vijay, Varsha
Postdoctoral Fellow
vvijay@sesync.org
The Effectiveness of Protected Areas in Meeting Ecological and Socio-economic Goals of Conservation
White, Lauren
Postdoctoral Fellow
lwhite@sesync.org
Disease ecology
Zuercher, Rachel
Postdoctoral Fellow
rzuercher@sesync.org